♪♬ Life is now a song ♬♪

I grew up on a healthy diet of animated Disney movies. They provided countless hours of happiness throughout my childhood and for the duration of my teens. I remember a particularly fun evening where a friend and I recited the *entire* Lion King script during a telephone call – for us, hakuna matata was indeed ♪♬no passing craze ♬♬.

And so, it’s fair to say that I, once, had a rather whimsical notion of how lovely life would be if it was indeed a musical; that the daily mundane could be transformed into something wonderful if it was narrated in song, accompanied by a jaunty tune and supported by a few dancing animals. Be careful what you wish for…

Because now my daily grind is full of song – songs to settle Angus, soothe Angus, distract Angus, entertain Angus. And…it’s not good. It is not fun. (Well, sometimes it is 😋) Songs are made up on the spot, and if Angus happens to like them then they will be sung ad nauseum. ♪♬This is the song that never ends, yes it goes on and on my friend♬♪

Pretend Walt (Disney) went on a bender one night, met Dr Seuss in a bar where they downed a few Jager bombs, and then went home together to…write…sweet, sweet music; and then they passed the mike and dance shoes over to someone with a little bit of rhythm, and a whole lot of off-key notes in their repertoire. That is a fair and measured description of the calibre of both the lyrical content and performance of my songs. Let me share a few examples with you …

music-staff-clip-art-clipart-panda-free-clipart-images-g0r2Yn-clipart

♪♬Songs to cover up swear words
(generally happens when I am trying to squeeze/pull tiny little hands through sleeves of a onesie…):
Fuck!…whoops….oh fuck, said the little duck,
I’m really, yes really, really out of luck.
My mum, yes mum, has a mouth of muck,
And so, at times, her language it does suck
.

(…or, when he strikes out at me when I try to burp him):
Shit! …whoops….what a well-aimed hit! 

Good job, my son,
at least it wasn’t spit,
Hey now,  my son,
Can’t you hold your mit?
Please stop, my son,
Before your bum I hit.

♪♬For my bub with a ferocious appetite that cannot be tamed by either regurgitation issues or gas pains, I have adapted the Time Warp lyrics:

IT’S JUST A SPIT TO THE LEFT
AND THEN SPIT UP TO THE RIGHT
WITH YOUR HANDS CLENCHED IN FISTS
YOU BRING YOUR KNEES IN TIGHT
BUT IT’S THE GAS BUBBLES
THAT REALLY DRIVE YOU INSANE
LETS CLEAR YOUR GUTS OUT AGAIN!

♪♬For distraction during diaper change:

Rattle, rattle, rattle,
Oh yes, your name is Gus,
Rattle, rattle, rattle,
There’s never a need to fuss!
When your name is Gus,
There’s never a need to fuss,
Rattle, rattle, rattle,
Oh yes, your name iiiiis…Guuuuuuus!

(Fyi I do in fact have a rattle, which I do in fact shake while singing this one. It’s nice to have a little percussion support).

♪♬And the final one I’ll share, is called into action to soothe an angry Angus, and is performed with Angus in my arms, while dancing a waltzing box step around the house and with the 2 dogs following us (yep, it’s my wish fulfilled – dancing animals in the mix, too):

Yoooou…aaaaare…
Angus the frog, Angus the frog,
Diddle dee dee, doddle dee doh,
Yoooou…aaaaare…
Angus the frog, Angus the frog,
Diddle dee dee, doddle dee doh,
He sits on a log, next to a dog, inside a bog!
Yoooou…aaaaare…

Angus the frog, Angus the frog,
Diddle dee dee, doddle dee doh!

(and this one gets sung over and over and over again…it just goes on and on my friends).

May the musical gods forgive my sins. And may my son grow up with better pitch than me.

2 thoughts on “♪♬ Life is now a song ♬♪

  1. Once again Bec…….. hilarious. Even though I know your tongue is firmly in your cheek and a lot of those times you’d rather scream than sing…….keep hanging in there. Funnily enough we all eventually make it……. with most of our sanity intact…….well that one might be debatable. But we make it……. we fake it till we make it….. but we make it. Love reading your blog and ps I remember who your phone partner was…… freakin hilarious!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

